Home > News! > Reservations are being taken for SpaceShip Two

Reservations are being taken for SpaceShip Two

December 5, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

space_girl

While NASA frets over a looming hiatus in its ability to launch people into space, a commercial company is poised to unveil the first spaceship for private passenger travel.

The formal presentation of Virgin Galactic’s SpaceShipTwo is scheduled for Monday afternoon in California’s Mojave Desert, the home base of legendary designer Burt Rutan and his team at Scaled Composites.

Since I was a small child, I’ve wanted nothing more than to break free of the gravitational hold that this little blue and green rock has on me, and venture out into deep space.  The idea of space travel has thrilled and fascinated me for as long as I can remember.  Were mankind to ever colonize another planet, I would immediately look into changing my career in hopes to taking on the title of “space trucker” and spend the rest of my days happily hauling cargo back and forth through the big black void.

Truthfully, I’ve been expecting the coming of commercial suborbital flights since I was a teenager, so this article pleases me greatly.  I may not live long enough to see the colonization of another world… but thanks to this company (and hopefully, someday, others like it), I will make it up into the thermosphere where I will be able to see the curvature of the Earth and experience weightlessness.

Today, the price is a hefty $200K.  I’m starting to save for it now.  I hope that, with the coming of better future technologies, that this type of travel will become more common-place and the price will drop.  But even if it doesn’t… I’ll make it there one day.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

