Home > News! > Jumping the Shark in a Single Bound

Jumping the Shark in a Single Bound

November 29, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

supergirl

NEW IMAGES have surfaced from Smallville’s Absolute Justice two-hour movie event which airs in the US on February 5.

OK, I admit it… Smallville is one of those guilty pleasures that I secretly enjoy.  I don’t think it’s a grand show.  The acting is below par.  The storylines are predictable.  And the “look” of the characters does come off way too 90210 for my tastes.  However, I do seriously enjoy superhero stories and I’ve been a fan of Superman since I was a small boy.  So yes… I watch Smallville.  Deal with it.

However, times do change, and I may have to wave a hand in the air and say WHOA!  I think you’re starting to go a bit too far (or rather, not far enough) with some of the costuming!  I will explain…

The quality of work is definitely going downhill.  I admit that I think Green Arrrow is pretty cool, but he needs the pointy beard!  I was seriously digging the actress who played Zatanna.  I accepted the portrayal of Martian Manhunter as a gentleman without color (meaning he’s not green).  I got past the lousy (but somewhat buy-able) portrayals of the Flash, Aquaman, and Black Canary.

With so many unpleasant moments throughout the Smallville years, how exactly do you gauge when they’ve finally “jumped the shark” by comparison?!  Was it just after the pilot episode?  When they did the Doomsday storyline?  When they decided to make Lana Lang a witch… or a vampire?  Was it when the purple-clad siblings, Zan and Jayna, threw their hands together and yelled “Powers Activate!”

Not for me… I took it all in stride.  For me, they SOARED over the shark when, grasping desperately for a deus ex machina, the writers felt it was necessary to have Cosmic Boy, Saturn Girl, and Lightning Lad come back in time from the 31st century to “help Clark put things right”.  Yet even after that, I still watched…

…but now it might be time to say “when”.  I just discovered the following photos from upcoming episodes, and could only shake my head in disgust.  The Doctor Fate and Stargirl costuming is sadly accurate.  And as for Hawkman, well… I’m not sold on the “wings”.  Maybe if they had computer generated them, then they’d look better.

You see… my problem is that with the introduction of each new character, the wardrobe department had always attempted to slightly reinvent the costumes so that they’ll be better suited (read as “less cheesy”) for television.  So this obvious attempt for accuracy is going to be their ultimate downfall in my eyes.

 

doctor_fate_and_stargirl

hawkman_pins_green_arrow

  1. November 29, 2009 at 9:27 am

    At the casting call… “You want me to wear WHAT?”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

